Smarter Italy: 8.5 million for smart mobility

The Ministry of Technological Innovation and Digital Transition has announced the start of the operational phase of the program Smarter Italy with the first 8.5 million euro call for smart mobility. The goal is to improve urban mobility services through the development of innovative platforms. Large companies, SMEs, start-ups, universities, research centers and the third sector can participate. Applications can be sent by 30 June 2022.

Smart mobility for 11 cities and 12 villages

Smarter Italy aims to improve the life of communities and citizens through the experimentation in the territories of emerging technological solutions in different areas: mobility, environment, personal well-being and cultural heritage. The financial envelope for the implementation of the program is over 90 million euros. 11 medium and large cities (Smart Cities) and 12 smaller cities (Villages of the future) are involved in the experimentation.

The first call provides for the development of original solutions related to smart mobility platformsable to promote urban mobility through:

  • simulation tools to support the planning of interventions aimed at preserving or improving quantitative or qualitative aspects of urban mobility and allowing the planning of integrated public transport
  • near-real-time monitoring, proactive and predictive functions for the dynamic optimization of vehicular traffic and infrastructural elements connected to it (e.g. parking lots, city parking lots, reserved parking lots, loading and unloading goods, cycle paths, charging stations electric, etc.)

The solutions must guarantee adequate performance, in terms of effectiveness and efficiency. The experimentation of the selected solutions can take place on the territory of smart city (Bari, Cagliari, Catania, Genoa, L’Aquila, Matera, Modena, Milan, Prato, Rome and Turin) and in the villages of the future (Alghero, Bardonecchia, Campobasso, Carbonia, Cetraro, Concorezzo, Ginosa, Grottammare, Otranto, Pantelleria, Pietrelcina and Sestri Levante).

Source link